Getting to Chancellor College in Zomba, Malawi

Comments Off on Getting to Chancellor College in Zomba, Malawi

Dear delegates,

As the deadline approaches [extended to Friday 29 April], we would like to provide you with information to help you plan your journey to attend the conference in Zomba on 24-25 August 2017.

Delegates from Malawi

The conference will be hosted at the Great Hall at Chancellor College, University of Malawi. Chancellor College is located in Zomba, the old capital city of Malawi. It is about 2kms from Zomba’s main trading centre at a location called Chirunga.

From Blantyre – Take the M3 Blantyre to Zomba Road

From Lilongwe – Take the M1 Lilongwe to Zomba

We will soon offer a scheme for Malawian delegates with accepted papers to provide fuel and accommodation vouchers from Mzuzu, Lilongwe and Blantyre. We will encourage applicants to organise group trips within your respective institutions to maximize efficiency.

Arriving in Malawi

Malawian Airlines (which is operated by Ethiopian airlines) offers direct regional flights from Lusaka, Harare, Johannesburg, Dar es Salaam, Nairobi and Zanzibar.

Connecting flights into Malawi can be made from Addis Ababa, Nairobi and Johannesburg via Ethiopian, Kenyan and South African airlines.

Malawi’s two international airports are Lilongwe Kamuzu International Airport (LLW) and Blantyre Chileka International Airport (BLZ). The conference will provide vehicles to greet attendees at either airport on 23 August 2017 and will transport passengers on 26 August 2017; however, you must submit your travel itinerary to the conference organizers at

Visas for delegates from Southern Africa

Nationals from Southern African Development Community (SADC) countries and from the following countries, do not need a visa to enter Malawi.

1.Antigua And Barbuda 2. Bahamas 3. Barbados 4. Belize 5. Botswana 6. Dominica 7. Fiji 8. Gambia 9. Grenada 10. Hong Kong, China 11. Israel 12. Jamaica 13. Kenya 14. Kiribati 15. Lesotho 16. Malaysia 17. Mauritius 18. Mozambique 19. Namibia 20. Nauru 21. Northern Ireland 22. Samoa (Western) 23. Seychelles 24. South Africa 25. St. Kitts Nevis 26. St. Lucia 27. St. Vincent And The Grenadines 28. Swaziland 29. Tanzania 30. Trinidad And Tobago 31. Tuvalu 32. Uganda 33. Zambia 34. Zimbabwe

Nationals from other African nations should verify their visa status prior to booking tickets. The Malawi government requires visas obtained prior to arrival for some nations. Please check the following list to verify if you need a visa prior to arrival.

Visas for International Delegates

In 2015, Malawi introduced a reciprocity visa scheme. This means visitors from certain countries must obtain a visa to visit Malawi. However, this visa can be purchased at the port of entry (Blantyre or Chileka airports) for most nations. A full list is available on the Malawi government’s immigration page.

The fee for entry is $75 USD per person. I would advise that you bring the correct amount in cash with notes printed after 2005.

For more on Malawi Visas and Permits visit: